[ECOLOG-L] UCLA La Kretz Center 2017-2019 Postdoctoral Fellowship

The UCLA La Kretz Center for California Conservation Science
(http://ift.tt/2dLx8Ju) invites applications for its 2017-2019
Postdoctoral Fellowship in California Conservation Science. Consistent with our mission,
we seek a postdoctoral scholar who simultaneously conducts innovative research and
interfaces with the conservation and management agencies that direct and lead California
conservation. Our emphasis is on biological conservation, and the successful candidate
could work in any discipline that provides the scientific underpinnings for the preservation,
protection, management, or restoration of at-risk species, environments, or ecological
communities in California. We will consider candidates who have recently completed their
PhD, or will have completed it by August 2017. We envision hiring at least one Fellow each
year, building a team of conservation scientists with a passion for California and its
biodiversity.

The La Kretz Fellowship is for two years, subject to review after the first year. Our
expected start date is late summer, 2017. The successful applicant will be expected to
identify and work with at least ONE UCLA faculty member La Kretz affiliate
(http://ift.tt/2e9ARTZ). Successful applications
will identify research that addresses priority science concerns of resource management
agencies (broadly defined) in California. The position has an annual salary of approximately
$44,000 plus full benefits and modest research support ($5,000 over the two year
fellowship) that may be supplemented by individual mentors. Fellows have the option to
reside at the newly renovated La Kretz Field Station
(http://ift.tt/2dLxaB6), located in the Santa Monica
Mountains about 25 miles from campus, should it fit with their research objectives.

Several of our partner agencies have expressed particular interest in a series of high-
priority projects, including potential co-funding. We encourage applicants to use these
ideas as a starting point for developing collaborative projects (see fill list and summary
under the Fellowships sidebar on http://ift.tt/2e9BAV6). This
list is neither comprehensive nor representative of projects that stand the highest chance
of successful support. Rather, it provides one set of projects with strong interest from our
partners.

We encourage candidates to contact UCLA affiliate faculty and relevant partner agencies
to explore collaborative possibilities as they develop their proposals. Several of our
partners have expressed interest in co-sponsoring a La Kretz Center fellow, including
possible co-funding opportunities, including:

FORMAT –

NAME
AGENCY/INSTITUTION
EMAIL

~

Sophie Parker

The Nature Conservancy

sophie_parker@TNC.ORG

~

Luis Chiappe

LA Natural History Museum

lchiappe@nhm.org

~

Robert Fisher

U.S. Geological Survey

rfisher@usgs.gov

~

Mike Westphal

US Bureau of Land Management

mwestpha@blm.gov

~

Cat Darst

US Fish and Wildlife Service

cat_darst@fws.gov

~

Katy Delaney

National Park Service

katy_delaney@nps.gov

~

Seth Riley

National Park Service

seth_riley@nps.gov

~

Robert Lovich

Department of Defense

robert.lovich@navy.mil

~

Mike White

Tejon Ranch Conservancy

mwhite@tejonconservancy.org

~

Milan Mitrovich

OC Natural Communities Coalition

mitrovich@naturereserveoc.org

~

Danielle Lefer

CA State Parks

Danielle.LeFer@parks.ca.gov

Interested candidates should submit 1) cover letter, 2) CV, 3) short 1-2-page description of
their research and management accomplishments, 4) 2-page proposal describing their
proposed research including potential faculty and agency mentors (single spaced, 2 page
limit includes figures but not references), and 5) copies of two research publications, all as
a single PDF file to Mario Colon, Administrative Assistant, at mario.colon@ucla.edu. You
should also have three letters of recommendation, including one from your Ph.D. advisor,
sent under separate emails with the subject line “La Kretz Postdoc letter for XXX (your last
name)”. The deadline for completed applications is 20 November 2016. E-mail questions to
Mario or to Brad Shaffer (Director of the La Kretz Center) at brad.shaffer@ucla.edu.

Comments are closed.